Book Review

ARC Review | Lost Rider by: Harper Sloan

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Wide Open Spaces (43).png

Lost Rider (Coming Home, #1)

Title: Lost Rider
Series: The Coming Home Series #1
Author: Harper Sloan
Genre: Contemporary Romance/Second Chance
Publication Date: April 25th, 2017
Publisher: Pocket Books
Format: ARC/Kindle | Pages: 400

My Rating: 5 Stars

Synopsis:

In Lost Rider, the first Western romance in New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Harper Sloan’s Coming Home series, an injured rodeo star encounters an old flame but will she be just what he needs to get back in the saddle?

Maverick Austin Davis is forced to return home after a ten-year career as a rodeo star. After one too many head injuries, he’s off the circuit and in the horse farming business, something he’s never taken much of a shine to, but now that it’s his late father’s legacy, familial duty calls. How will Maverick find his way after the only dream he ever had for himself is over?

Enter Leighton Elizabeth James, an ugly duckling turned beauty from Maverick’s childhood—his younger sister’s best friend, to be exact, and someone whose heart he stomped all over when she confessed her crush to him ten years back. Now Leighton is back in Maverick’s life, no longer the insecure, love-stricken teen—and Maverick can’t help but take notice. Sparks fly between them, but will Leighton be able to open her heart to the one man who broke it all those years ago?

Written in the vein of Diana Palmer and Lindsay McKenna, this Texas-set series is filled with sizzle, heart, and plenty of cowboys!

Funky Beats (6)

Oh..My…Lord
Maverick and Leighton’s story is breathtakingly beautiful.

This is my first ever Harper Sloan novel…I am completely blown away! Lost Rider is a heart warming second chance romance about righting your wrongs, finding your way back home, and healing. By the end of this novel I guarantee you will fall in love with Maverick Austen Davis!

“You better believe I’m ridin’ this out with you until you buck me off. And darlin’, there hasn’t been a ride I’ve ever been more prepared for.”

I love my cowboys, so when I read the synopsis I was all in. Give me a broken cowboy with a heart of gold any day!!!

“I might be off the circuit, but i’m gearing up for the ride of my life.”

Maverick Davis left home ten years ago leaving a trail of dust and a broken heart behind. His dreams of being the top bull rider in the world come to a screeching halt when he has his final injury and the doctor tells him no more. His world is spiraling, he lives his days and nights in a drunken stupor until a phone call telling him to come home pulls him out of it. Now Maverick is back in the town that he swore never to step foot in and attending a funeral for a man who haunts his dreams, his father.

Now that Maverick is back in Pine Oak he has a lot of wrongs that he has to make right and a lot of horrible memories he has to overcome and heal from. But the first thing he needs to do is make things right with Leighton James.

“I ran from this town to escape the hell I had been livin’. I lost the only slice of heaven I’ve ever felt. I felt it again that night, Leigh,  and I’m tellin’ you right now, I’m not givin’ that feelin’ up without a fight.”

Leighton James had her heart broke ten years ago when Maverick pushed her away. She’s never came back from his cruel words and built a wall up around her heart. No matter what though she still loves him. Now that he is back and wanting to make things right by her, Leigh has to find a way to push past the years of self-doubt and hurt he has caused in order to, not only, open her heart back up to Maverick but also have the ability to fully trust him again.

“Sometimes it takes hitting rock bottom to find your way again. You have to be lost before you can ever be found.”

Not only is this novel amazing and now on my favorite’s list but it also has a pretty kick ass playlist on Spotify to go along with the chapters. I’m loving the fact that more and more authors are sharing their playlists with us readers!

I loved Lost Rider by Harper Sloan and Highly Recommend it to anyone looking for that perfect second chance romance.

*An Arc was provided through netgalley via the publisher for an honest review*

Funky Beats (7)

Amazon USAmazon US paperback AudibleAmazon UKAmazon AU | Amazon CA B&NKoboiBooks |

 

Peace, Love, and Happy Reading,

Staircase (1)

5 thoughts on “ARC Review | Lost Rider by: Harper Sloan

Leave a Reply

