Top ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Things on my reading wishlist!

Copy of July Book Haul

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book meme created by The Broke and The Bookish!

Each week is a different category. This Weeks Category is:

Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist!

1)  More Cutesy Romances

I’m all about the angst but I found lately I’ve been searching for novels that are low on the angsty totem pole. I want the cutesy books that make me swoon and keep me in the swoony state the whole way through.

2) More Road trip novels

One of my favorite ‘tropes’ in romance novels are ones that incorporate road trips, I love the adventure these characters find themselves facing on these road trips. You never know what to expect!

3) Friendships that grow rather than Friendships that end.

I love a novel with strong friendships, but they are few and far between. We need more romances that show friendships building and being able to lean on said friend when things get hard. I think this adds more dimension to the novel itself and makes it easier to relate to the characters.

4) More Spotify Playlists to go along with novels.

I’m finding myself searching for authors on Spotify lately. I love when they share their playlist on spotify. I find it another way to easily get into a characters mind. Plus the song sets the mood for the chapter.

5) A New Cover Theme

I crave a new theme when it comes to covers. Granted I love looking at eye candy, but it gets old fast. Especially when the same model and the same pose is used often. I get your main character is buff and sexy as hell, and a year ago I was buying books based on the man candy, but now I’ve had my ab fill, give me some amazingly sexy eyes, a killer smile, and Dimples…..PLEASE.

6) Country Characters….who are actually country.

I’ve recently found myself annoyed with books involving the ‘country’ lifestyle. I found in some of these books the ‘country’ main characters aren’t actually all that country. Maybe I’m being biased, but come on give me those hard working, hay throwing, cow tippin’ country boys! Just because you wear boots doesn’t mean you’re country!!!

7) More country Small town novels.

Now that my rant about characters is over, I would love to see more novels set in the country and characters living the actual country lifestyle.

8) More books involving strong FAMILIES!

The popular trend for novels I noticed is having struggling families. Nah, I’m tired of that. I want characters that love there mama’s and worship their daddy’s.

9) STOP WITH THE DIVORCING!!!

This goes along with the family topic but another strong topic for me is there are way to many novels involving divorced parents or people separating without any clue as to why they are separating. I want to see a novel where the couple actually works on their issues and resolve it instead of the only option being divorce

10)  More Novels that are UNPREDICTABLE 

I love when Authors have the power to completely mind f*ck me with a twist. An oh S*it moment that completely comes out of nowhere and literally makes you want to throw your book out the window, but you can’t because you’re life depends on you finding out what happens next. This is what I’m craving the most.

What’s on your wishlist?

❤ ❤ ❤

Peace Love and Happy Reading,

Staircase (1)

 

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Things on my reading wishlist!

  1. I put so many of these on my top ten this week. I especially agree with road trips (they’re my summer go to) and families. There isn’t enough of novels with strong family units. Most authors forget the family even exist!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It really is! I’m quite often drawn to novels that have a strong family purely because of the lack of it, particularly in YA

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Super cool about Spotify. I never thought to find out if any authors I read have those… I’ll have to check that out! Also yes to families! I have a big family myself and we fight and struggle… but we also are pretty close and all love each other. I’d love to see that in books more. (:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

