Book Review

Review | Ace’s Redemption by: A.C. Bextor

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Wide Open Spaces (65)

Ace's Redemption by A.C. Bextor

Title: Ace’s Redemption
Series: Devil’s Despair #1
Author: A.C. Bextor
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publication Date: September 25th, 2014

My Rating: ✮ ✮ ✮ ✮

Synopsis:

Cherry
Memories alone can ruin you. Fear has a paralyzing effect, and love isn’t always enough to keep you safe.

Ace was the gateway to a freedom I hadn’t known since I was fifteen. He offered his protection from the demons that haunted me; both living and dead.

Although I knew I wasn’t enough to keep him, this didn’t deter my hope that one day he’d love me for who I was, not the broken girl he tried so desperately to save.

In the end, the ghosts of my past found me. Their malevolence knew no bounds, and I was forced to succumb to their will of darkness. Each threat named against those I loved made any escape impossible; choosing my life for theirs became my desolate absolution.

Inevitably, it was my own weakness and self-doubt that became my undoing.

Ace
Emotional ties are sometimes severed. Friendships don’t always endure their hardships, and love offered isn’t always returned.

I was in love once. For me, leaving her back in Ohio was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do. For her, moving on with her life that included her son and the man she loved was no less than she deserved — unconditional happiness.

My reasons to bring Cherry home to California were obvious. I needed help with my family, and she needed help staying clean and convincing her parents she was ready to give her son the life he deserved.

It was a perfect plan. However, the best laid plans often get lost amidst their best intentions.

Cherry fell in love with me, and in return my love for her acted as the catalyst to her destruction.

Funky Beats (6)

✮ ✮ ✮ ✮

I loved Ace from the start, back in the lights of peril series, so when I saw that ace had his own story to tell. I was all on it!

we are now a few months after ace and cherry leave the Lights of Peril behind and head to California.

Let me give you the background….

Ace loves a girl named Sadey but Sadey loved the president of the MC he was a part of. She had loved him since she was a little girl and they love grew as she did. Ace gets put on the back burner after Sadey says yes to marrying this other man. He decides to leave for good and head back to his home in California. Cherry has loved Ace for the longest time but she was always overshadowed by Sadey. Now that Sadey is out of the picture she sees her chance to step in and be the friend that Ace needs.
I loved the fact that ace and cherry have bonded together to help each other out. ace is helping cherry stay clean so she can get her son and cherry is helping ace take care of his grandmother and his little sister.
Ace is not only trying to move on from the Sadey situation but is also trying to figure out the recent feelings that are starting to grow for Cherry.
Not only is this a romance but it’s also very suspenseful. Cherry has stuff from her past that resurfaces and becomes a threat. Plus we have Ace’s jealousy and Cherry slowly changing from becoming a club mama to evolving into the woman she wants to be.
Ace’ s Redemption is a whirlwind romance and can be read as a standalone but I highly recommend you read the lights of peril series first! If you haven’t read the Lights of Peril series yet but want to dive into this one….no worries….Ace’s Redemption gives flashbacks so there is no confusion what so ever.
I’m excited to see Hayden’s story is next with Hayden’s verse!
I’m really enjoying this series so far!

Peace Love and Happy Reading,

Staircase (1)

 

2 thoughts on “Review | Ace’s Redemption by: A.C. Bextor

Leave a Reply

