5 stars · Book Review

Book Review | Kiss My Boots by: Harper Sloan

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Wide Open Spaces (71).png

Kiss My Boots (Coming Home, #2)

Title: Kiss My Boots
Series: Coming Home #2
Author: Harpter Sloan
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Pocket Books
Publication Date: July 18th

My Rating: ✮ ✮ ✮ ✮ ✮

Synopsis:

In this second of the sultry, Western-set Coming Home series from New York Times bestselling author Harper Sloan, Quinn Davis might finally have a shot at her own happily-ever-after—but will she let love in, or will she tell it to go ahead and kiss her boots?

Quinn Davis prefers to live her life quietly. She’s the stereotypical tomboy with two overprotective big brothers who have always been there to protect her, especially from devilishly handsome cowboys with silver tongues. That is, until Tate Montgomery comes riding into town. Their first meeting, however, is far from something out of a fairy tale and only further convinces Quinn that men aren’t worth her time.

The only place Tate Montgomery ever truly felt at home growing up was during the long, sweltering summer months he spent at his Gram and Paw’s farm in Pine Oak, Texas. Now, Tate has returned to his childhood sanctuary seeking a fresh start—but if he’s being entirely honest, he’s not just back for the wranglers and Stetsons. During those summers, Quinn was a friend-turned-young-love who Tate lost when life threw him a curveball and he cut all ties to his past; but all it takes is one glance at the raven-haired beauty he did his best to forget for him to realize just how much he’s been missing….

*arc received through Netgalley*

Funky Beats (6)

 

5 ‘Grease and Starch’ stars

Kiss My Boots was everything I expected it to be and so much more.

This second chance romance was done right.

Quinn met the love of her life when she was eleven years old in Tate. She and Tate shared their first kiss when they were fifteen and gave each other everything they had when they were eighteen. and then Tate the summer ended and Tate went off to med school completely disappearing without a phone call or an explanation, abandoning and shattering Quinn. Now 9 years later Tate is back in hopes of winning back the only woman he has ever loved but was forced to give up.

There are several aspects to this novel that I loved.

Quinn is not only a tomboy but also a bad ass…

she is also a well-respected mechanic who loves and takes her job very serious. It’s not ever day there is a novel with a female protagonist who isn’t afraid to get her hands a little greasy.

The angst factor was there but it was low with this novel. After reading Lost Rider and seeing the high angst factor (which I loved) I was scared Kiss My Boots was going to be the same. In Lost Rider, Quinn was perceived to be tough as nails and a Hell Raiser, I was hoping to get that same side of her in Kiss My Boots and I’m happy to announce…

THE HELL RAISER HAS RETURNED IN FULL FORCE!!

A lot of the times Second Chance romances are told to quick for my liking. Example: Guy disappears for years than reappears, girl doesn’t put up much of a fight to let him back in.

Not only did Quinn have to go to battles with her own heart but Tate had to step up and confront Quinn’s older Brothers (Maverick & Clay).  Tate actually had to put the time and effort in to make Quinn see him for the man he is now. Even though….

Tate’s reasoning behind his disappearing act was totally justified.

I loved how protective Clay and Maverick are of their sister. I loved the familial feel to this small town romance. and lets not forget the sisterhood between Quinn and Leigh is stronger than ever!

I freaking adored this novel as you can tell from above. I honestly can say that Quinn’s story is my favorite….so far….I’m still waiting on Clay’s story and I have a feeling his is going to be a doozy on my heart. I have mad love for Clay and am dying to see his tough ass find a woman and settle down.

I highly recommend Kiss My Boots!

Funky Beats (11)

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon CA

BN | Kobo | iBooks

 

Peace Love and Happy Reading,

Staircase (1)

3 thoughts on “Book Review | Kiss My Boots by: Harper Sloan

Leave a Reply

