WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday | July 12th, 2017

July Book Haul (22)

WWW Wednesday is a weekly book meme now hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words! The rules are simple, just answer the three W’s!

The Three W’s:

What are you currently reading?
What did you just finish reading?
What are you planning to read next

Let’s get started!

Funky Beats (8)

Right now, I am reading an advanced copy of TRUST by KYLIE SCOTT! I’m 23% through this novel and I’m really enjoying it! I’m loving how different it is from the ‘typical’ YA novel! It’s intense, intriguing, and definitely has me on the edge of my seat. I am also loving how the characters aren’t your ‘typical’ young adult characters. 

Trust

Trust

by: Kylie Scott
Publisher: Self Published
Publication Date: July 18th
ARC provided by Netgalley for review

Synopsis:

Being young is all about the experiences: the first time you skip school, the first time you fall in love…the first time someone holds a gun to your head.

After being held hostage during a robbery at the local convenience store, seventeen-year-old Edie finds her attitude about life shattered. Unwilling to put up with the snobbery and bullying at her private school, she enrolls at the local public high school, crossing paths with John. The boy who risked his life to save hers.

While Edie’s beginning to run wild, however, John’s just starting to settle down. After years of partying and dealing drugs with his older brother, he’s going straight—getting to class on time, and thinking about the future.

An unlikely bond grows between the two as John keeps Edie out of trouble and helps her broaden her horizons. But when he helps her out with another first—losing her virginity—their friendship gets complicated.

Meanwhile, Edie and John are pulled back into the dangerous world they narrowly escaped. They were lucky to survive the first time, but this time they have more to lose—each other.

Funky Beats (9)

I completed four novels and one novella this week! The first novel I completed was an advanced copy of Checkmate: This is Dangerous by: Kennedy Fox. This is Dangerous is the first book I’ve read by this mystery duo. This novel was a 5 STAR read for me! I loved it. I thought it was cute and sexy as hell! 

Checkmate: This is Dangerous (Logan & Kayla, #1) (Checkmate Duet, #5)

This is Dangerous
(Checkmate #5)

by: Kennedy Fox
Publisher: Self Published
Publication Date: July 6th
ARC provided by Kennedy Fox for review
REVIEW

Synopsis:

Logan Knight is a real life knight in shining armor. 
A detective godsend in a sleek black suit has me thinking less than secretive thoughts. Brooding and mysterious, he’s the kind of guy every girl instantly notices. Between his seductive smirk and charming good looks, it’s no wonder I can’t help the way he makes me feel whenever I’m near him. 
Too bad he’s unavailable—or so he says.

He thinks I’m a do-gooder who shouldn’t get involved with a guy like him. His past is messy and relationships just add to that. He insists the timing is all wrong and he’s devoted to his career, but I don’t buy that excuse for a second. I see the way his body tenses and his jaw ticks every time another guy is around me. He just won’t admit it, but I’m more determined than ever to show him what he’s missing.

I’m a devoted animal rescuer and I’ll risk everything to save them, but when a dramatic turn of events puts both our lives at risk, I’m positive Logan will write me off for good. But when he asks for my help with a personal crisis, I know it’s my last chance to finally show him I can handle anything he throws my way—messy past and all.

He might think he has me all figured out, but I’ll prove him wrong no matter what he thinks. This game of push and pull has me running in circles. One wrong move and we could both lose.

Checkmate, Knight.

***

Another novel I recently finished was an advanced copy of Biker B*tch by Andie J. Christopher. Biker B*tch is a MC romance. I was highly intrigued by this novel. I love my motorcycle men so I quickly requested a copy from netgalley and was approved. I liked this novel but sadly I didn’t love it. I rated Biker B*tch 3 out of 5 stars.

Biker B*tch

Biker B*tch
(Heaven’s Sinners #1)

by: Andie J. Christopher
Publisher: Barclay Publicity
Publication Date: July 11th, 2017
ARC provided by Netgalley for review
Review

Blurb:

Skyler Clark knows she’ll have to face her past when returns to the Russian River Valley to make pinot noir. People in the small town where she grew up haven’t forgotten her father – a country doctor turned outlaw motorcycle club president – and his fall from grace. But as long as she keeps her own business squeaky clean and stays away from bikers, she’ll be fine.

Abner Travis sold his family’s vineyard and winery to build up his business. And he’s the president of a clean motorcycle club that does things the overburdened sheriff’s department can’t. He’s too busy making sculptures for Hollywood directors and quietly sabotaging meth labs to chase a woman. But now that Skyler’s all grown up, he wants her for his own. He just has to convince her that their dark, shared history shouldn’t get in the way.

Travis is the one thing Skyler can’t resist, but she doesn’t believe they can last. When her father’s old club puts Skyler’s business and safety at risk, she has to decide whether to place her trust in Travis or to walk away. And Travis has to decide how much he’ll give up to keep the woman he loves.

***

Next I FINALLY started the Sinners of Saint series by L.J. Shen and let me tell you, I am LOVING THE HELL out of these boys! First on the list is the novella that is Jamie’s story. I loved Defy…but…I wanted it to be longer. I feel like Jamie’s story could have been a full length novel. I loved the sexiness and the taboo aspect. Defy is a student/teacher romance. I gave Defy a 4 star rating.

Defy (Sinners of Saint, #0.5)

Defy
(Sinners Of Saint 0.5)

by: L.J. Shen
Publisher: Self Published
Publication Date: January 31st, 2017
Format: Kindle Unlimited
Review

Synopsis:

My name is Melody Greene, and I have a confession to make.
I slept with my student, a senior in high school.
Multiple times.
I had multiple orgasms.
In multiple positions.
I slept with my student and I enjoyed it.
I slept with my student and I’d do it all over again if I could turn back time.
My name is Melody Greene, and I got kicked out of my position as a teacher and did my walk of shame a la Cersei Lannister from the principal’s office, minutes after said principal threatened to call the cops on me.
My name is Melody Greene, and I did something bad because it made me feel good.
Here is why it was totally worth it.

***

I also finished an advanced copy of Turn The Page by Sydney Logan. I enjoyed this insta love, small town, rocker goes back to his roots to find himself, novel. However, I felt it was a little to insta-lovey for my taste. Also a few important scenes in the novel felt rushed and in my honest opinion it caused those scenes to lack emotion. so sadly I rated this book with a 3.5 star rating. If you can overlook the issues I couldn’t overlook, I do recommend this novel because the story is sweet and enduring. I liked it but sadly didn’t love it like I was hoping I would.

Turn the Page

Turn The Page

by: Sydney Logan
Publisher:
Publication Date:
ARC provided by Reading In Sarah’s Corner
Review

Synopsis:

Sex. Drugs. Rock and roll.

Life in the fast lane is nothing new to Corbin James.

After completing his second stint in rehab, Corbin heads home to Riverview, determined to leave the music world behind and focus on his family, his songwriting, and his sobriety.

Crippled with debt but determined to make it on her own, Jolie Daniels pours her heart and soul into the town’s bookstore. When Corbin finds his debut album in Jolie’s discount bin, sparks fly between the pretty bookstore owner and the rock star musician.

Corbin knows he’s nowhere near good enough for a sweet girl like Jolie . . .

But he wants to be.

When a record label approaches Corbin with the chance to make a musical comeback, he doesn’t think twice before saying no. He’s ready to settle down, and he wants to do it with Jolie. However, when her beloved bookstore is threatened with foreclosure, Corbin finds himself signing a contract that will take him away from home and back on tour for three months.

Can Corbin resist the temptations of the tour? Or will the loneliness of the road resurrect all the demons he’s worked so hard to bury?

***

I finally read the novel that everyone and their mothers have been talking about and that is VICIOUS by L.J. Shen!!!! OMG I loved the hell out of this novel! I loved the dark that was Vicious and the light that was Emilia! This is such an odd take on the second chance trope especially with the Enemies to Lovers trope mixed in between! Vicious is a brooding asshole! I LOVED HIM!!! I gave Vicious a 5 star rating! Why the hell have I waited this long to read this series? I haven’t the slightest clue.

Vicious (Sinners of Saint, #1)

Vicious
(Sinners of Saint #1)

by: L.J. Shen
Publisher: Self Published
Publication Date: December 27th, 2016
Format: Kindle Unlimited
Review

Synopsis

Emilia

They say love and hate are the same feelings experienced under different circumstances, and it’s true.
The man who comes to me in my dreams also haunts me in my nightmares.
He is a brilliant lawyer.
A skilled criminal.
A beautiful liar.
A bully and a savior, a monster and a lover.
Ten years ago, he made me run away from the small town where we lived. Now, he came for me in New York, and he isn’t leaving until he takes me with him.

Vicious

She is a starving artist.
Pretty and evasive like cherry blossom.
Ten years ago, she barged into my life unannounced and turned everything upside down.
She paid the price.
Emilia LeBlanc is completely off-limits, my best friend’s ex-girlfriend. The woman who knows my darkest secret, and the daughter of the cheap Help we hired to take care of our estate.
That should deter me from chasing her, but it doesn’t.
So she hates me. Big fucking deal.
She better get used to me.

Funky Beats (10)

I have a few arcs that are due this week. So I’m going to be a very busy reader this week. The next arcs on my list to read are:

 Wrecked 

Wrecked

by: JB Salsbury
Publisher: Forever
Publication Date: July 18th, 2017
ARC provided by publisher through Netgalley

Synopsis:

Wrecked is the new standalone novel of deliciously dark, deeply emotional contemporary romancefrom J.B. Salsbury, the New York Times bestselling author of Split and The Fighting Series.

When you can’t trust yourself, how can you ask anyone else to?

It’s been months since Aden Colt left the Army, and still the memories haunt him. When he moved into a boat off the California coast, he thought he’d found the perfect place to escape life.

Then Sawyer shows up, and turns his simple life upside down.

Beautiful and sophisticated, she seems out of place in this laidback beach town. Something is pushing her to experience everything she can—including Aden. But as much as he wants her, starting a relationship with Sawyer puts them both at risk.

For Aden, the past doesn’t stay there; it shows up unexpectedly, uncontrollably, and doesn’t care whose life it wrecks.

***

One Love (One & Only Book 4)

One Love
(One and Only #4)

by: Christie Ridgway
Publisher: Self Published
Publication Date: July 18th, 2017
ARC provided by L. Woods PR for review

Synopsis:

Mackenzie Walker is attempting to enjoy the last of her siblings’ weddings when her long-lost first love, Alexander “Zan” Elliott, crashes the reception. During the last ten years she’s cultivated her reputation as tough and unsentimental, but one glimpse of Zan softens her heart and sets her pulse racing. But he claims to be a short-timer in the area and she’ll never admit—not even to herself—she’s been carrying a torch for him all this time.

Zan Elliott has business at Blue Arrow Lake and then he’ll go right back to his wandering-the-world life as a documentary filmmaker. But seeing the Walkers again, seeing Mac again, brings back the best of childhood memories. There are lessons he learned then too, however. Love means loss and starting things up once more with Mac might ultimately hurt them both. Yet battling his feelings is getting more difficult by the day…

Winter is anything but cold in the snowy mountains surrounding beautiful Blue Arrow Lake as a reunion between two former lovers sparks a brand new fire.

This is an enhanced version of a book previously published as CAN’T FIGHT THIS FEELING and includes extras.

***

Unbreakable: An Unacceptables MC Standalone Romance

Unbreakable
(Unacceptables MC)

by: Kristen Hope Mazzola
Publisher: Self Published
Publication Date: July 20th, 2017
ARC provided by L. Woods PR for review

Synopsis:

The life I live is a dangerous one:

I am the wife of an outlaw.
The daughter of the Unacceptables’ President.

But it’s finally our time. Time to truly start our life. With our first baby on the way, Ryder and my life could not be more perfect.

The club is doing well and the family is stronger than ever. But, is it all too good to be true?

After all, I am their kryptonite and they will stop at nothing to protect me and my child. Can Ryder and the rest of his club be enough to keep us safe?

***

What are you reading this week?

Peace Love and Happy Reading,

Staircase (1)

9 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday | July 12th, 2017

  1. Currently, I’m reading Their Eyes Were Watching God for summer homework for my English class :/ I do really like it so far, just wish I didn’t have homework right now

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

