Blogger Bits

Blogger Bits | All about the re-read!

BloggersBits

All about the Re-Reads!

Welcome back to another segment of Blogger Bits! A few book bloggers and I got together and came up with Blogger Bits. Every month we bring you two segments (1st and the 15th of every month). We discuss different bookish and blogging subjects. At the end of my post I’ll link all the other bloggers posts so if you all want to see what their views and opinions, or favorites are in that category.

Wow that was a long and somewhat confusing intro, but as you may have guessed from the title this blogger bits is ALL ABOUT THE RE-READS! As an avid reader I have had my fair share of re-reads. I decided to break this category down into 3 parts.

Let’s get started with all of these re-reads!

Part One: Books I Re-Read the hell out of 10 years ago!

1. TWILIGHT SAGA by: Stephenie Meyer

 

Ten years ago I was 19 and I was re-reading anything and everything that I had nearby. Ten years ago was also when the twilight saga took the world by storm and teenagers were at constant odds when it came to Team Edward or Team Jacob. To answer your questions.

  • I loved twilight
  • I re-read the series probably ten or more times
  • I went to every movie midnight release.

This was the first vampire/werewolf series I ever read and I fell in love. I was obsessed with the stories not with the celebrities. I honest to god thought this series was everything.

Now the question of the century:

Do I still like the Twilight saga?

I’m about to get booed but being completely honest….no. I was in a book slump a few months back so I decided maybe I needed to get re-acquainted with a series I loved. I decided to read Twilight and sadly I didn’t even make it through half the novel before I was placing it back on my bookshelf and switching to something else. A small piece of me died that day. 

2. Morganville Vampire Series by: Rachel Caine

 

Another series that I had to have during my Twilight phase was the Morganville Vampire series by Rachel Caine. This series is the complete and total opposite of Twilight.

For one the vampires in this series are vicious and ruthless. Also another plus, the female protagonist is strong and independent, lets not forget she’s a freaking genius. which come to  think of it, really didn’t work out to well for her. Her smarts landed her a job with an ancient vampire who was losing his mind.

The only bad thing I have to say about this series is the fact that it was so damn long and cost a pretty penny because I literally needed more. The upside every book was intriguing and kept me invested.

Would I re-read it now that I’m 10 years older? 

Hell yeah! It’s a great series!

3. The Other Boleyn Girl by: Philippa Gregory

Once the hype surrounding the Twilight Saga got to be too much for me I decided to go a different route and started reading romance…again.

I read The Other Boleyn Girl and instantly fell in love with this type of read.  This story is sexy, intriguing, and downright disturbing. Two sisters fighting for the kings. The things Anne Boleyn does in this novel are ugly and ruthless. That made me love it even more!

An interesting fact about this novel at least for me. Each time I read this novel, it was like i was reading it for the first time. I picked up things that I didn’t grasp the first time reading it.

Would I re-read it again?

ABSOLUTELY

4. A Little Night Music by: Sarah Dale

One of my favorite tropes in literature is Rockstars!

Ever wonder what novel introduced me to this trope?

A Little Night Music  was my first ever rockstar romance. I bought this on a whim. The cover caught my attention and the blurb lured me in. Hook, line, and sinker. I read this novel so many times I still, to this day, have the story line memorized. Nathaniel Fox was my first book boyfriend!

Do I see a re-read in the future?

YES!!!! NATHANIEL FOX IS A SEX….I mean….ROCK GOD!

Part Two: Books I’ve re-read in the last year or so.

1. Taking Chances by: Molly McAdams

I found out what the term ‘Ugly Cry’ truly meant after reading Taking Chances. I was conflicted after reading this book. Last year I decided to pick it up again and give it a read to see If i still loved it.

I found that I loved it more the second time than I did the first! The angst in this novel is crazy. The emotions it pulled from me is psychotic and brutal.

With Molly McAdams I learned to always expect the unexpected and to keep a box of tissues and a bottle of Jack Daniels on hand. Wine, is in no way, strong enough for a Molly McAdams novel.

Would I re-read Taking Chances again?

Honestly I’m not sure, This novel broke me the first time I read it and completely shattered me the second time. I’m terrified to think what it will put me through next.

2. Thoughtless Series by: S.C. Stephens

I’ve read the thoughtless series numerous times. What can I say except, I’m addicted to Kellan Kyle.

I love angsty stories and this one is at the very top of my list of favorites. There is something about this story that reached out and forced me to stand in Kellan and Kiera’s corner even though I know damn well-being on team Kellan is going against all my morals and everything I believe in. But I still stood over there and helplessly cheered them on.

That’s one thing I love about this novel. It takes everything you feel is right and makes you see the wrong from a different point of view.

Would I re-read Thoughtless again?

YES! and I do plan on doing a series re-read when I get a free week!

Part Three: Novels I plan on Re-Reading!

 

It’s hard to find time to re-read novels these days, especially when new novels are getting published every day. I’ve been dying to get to my re-read tbr. So when I have a free week these are the series I plan on re-reading…for the first time!

1. Real Series by Katy Evans

As much as I talk and brag about this series you would probably assume that I’ve read Real, Mine, and Remy a million times by now.

Nope. Sadly I’ve only read them once. What can I say except for I love Remy! This man is not only a badass in the ring but he’s also one outside. I cannot wait to pick this series up again and get to reading it.

I plan on re-reading it hopefully before Racer releases!!!

2. Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Here is another novel that I fell in love with and have only read it once. Once was enough for Travis Maddox to leave his mark in my head.

I plan on re-reading Beautiful Disaster pretty soon!

3. Sinners On Tour series by Olivia Cunning!

Oh holy hell! Its been a little over two years since I first read backstage pass and I am still lusting over Brian Sinclair! If anybody is wanting to read a Rock Star romance series, Pick this series up.

I love all the sinners but Backstage Pass is my favorite!

I would love to re-read this in the near future!

4. Whispered Prayers of a Girl by Alex Grayson

This novel touched my heart and soul.  I was rushed reading it the first time because I had to get my review written up. I plan to read this again hopefully in the near future. Even rushing through it I rated it a 5 star!  It’s amazing and beautiful and i literally cannot wait to read it again!

5. Wrecked by JB Salsbury

I just finished an arc of wrecked today! Oh my this novel was crazy good!  I loved Sawyer and Aden! I am already planning a re-read for this one again!

6. Southern Desire by Kaylee Ryan 

I started the Southern Heart series with this book. I eventually want to read the first bok in the series ‘Southern Pleasure. I can’t get enough of these small town romances!


Thanks for tuning in to another Blogger Bits segment!

What is your most re-read novel?

Peace Love and Happy Reading,

Staircase (1)

9 thoughts on “Blogger Bits | All about the re-read!

  1. Wonderful post! I agree with you, Backstage Pass was the best, even though I haven’t read all of them. It was, IMO, both the hottest and the most romantic.

    Also, Beautiful Disaster, such a guilty pleasure, but sooo good. I even bought the paperback because it’s that “one of a kind” book that you want to keep close. Although, I have to say, I DNFed “Walking Disaster”. I couldn’t put up with Travis’ POV and opinions and it was such a word by word retelling it didn’t add anything new 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I also DNFed Walking Disaster. I was so excited to read Travis’s POV but was disappointed by the word for word content 😦 I did however, pick up a signed hardback copy of walking disaster at B&N for 4 dollars. I couldn’t resist.
      As for the rest of the Sinners, you should definitely read them. I love both of Olivia Cunning’s rocker series!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

