4 stars · Book Review

arc Review | Cross Check by Kelly Jamieson

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Wide Open Spaces (81)

Title: Cross Check
Series: Bayard Hockey #2
Author: Kelly Jamieson
Genre: Sports Romance | Hockey
Publisher: Loveswept
Publication Date: July 25, 2017

Synopsis:

Ella Verran has three goals this semester: get off academic probation, repair her relationship with her friend Skylar, and take some responsibility for her life. All of which are hard enough without hot, snobby hockey player Ben Buckingham around to distract her. Ella can’t stand Ben, and she knows the feeling is mutual. But he’s best friends with Skylar’s boyfriend, so he’s always around—taunting and tempting Ella in ways she never thought possible.

As the star forward of the Bayard College hockey team, Ben has goals too, like playing well enough to land a spot on an NHL roster. Ben is perfectly poised on the ice, so why can’t he keep his cool around Ella? Her wild behavior rubs him in all the wrong ways—and a few of the right ones. But as they skate around each other, Ben learns that there’s more to Ella than her bad reputation. And when the line between love and hate starts to blur, he can’t resist crossing over and sweeping her off her feet.

Funky Beats (6)

✮ ✮ ✮ ✮

This is the reason why I love Hockey romances!

Cross check is told in the Point of Views of Elle and Ben.

Elle is a reformed bad girl! I love novels that turn the tables and switch the roles! When she finds herself on academic probation that’s when she knows she has officially hit rock bottom. It’s time to buckle down and get her grades up. That means no partying and definitely no one night stands with hot college boys.

Ben is a hockey hottie and a man on a mission of making it to the NHL. He doesn’t have time for girlfriends nor does he want one, that is until Elle keeps showing up wherever he is. That is to be expected when elle and Ben’s best friends are dating each other though.

The more time Ben and Elle spend together the more they learn that they were completely wrong about each other’s  personalities and the more they find they love what they see.

I really enjoyed Cross Check. This is my first novel by author Kelly Jamieson and I have to admit I’m quite impressed! Jamieson knows her shit when it comes to hockey! I loved the fact that she incorporated so much ‘on ice game time’ in this novel. It wasn’t just another ‘hey i’m a hockey stud’ novel. I actually read the play by plays almost like an announcer was giving the details in my head! It definitely kept me entertained.

This novel does touch on the subject (not the act) of suicide and the impact it has on the loved ones who are left behind to morn. I loved this portion of the novel. It was eye-opening to the pain and suffering the friends and family go through. The emotions are spot on and bring a level of angst to the novel that made it that much more spectacular.

Now for the reason I dropped a star:

Even though I really enjoyed Cross Check, I felt the flow was off during a couple of chapters. Where as I loved the connection between Ben and Elle, I wasn’t feeling the friendship between Elle and Skylar. I felt some of the ‘best friend’ type scenes were rushed and lacked that sisterly vibe. Maybe it’s because I didn’t read the first book (Shut Out). I have no clue but I do plan on getting to Shut Out soon, so we shall see!

Overall, I really enjoyed this novel and if you love hockey I highly recommend this novel! You’ll no doubt love the play by plays. Lets not forget the hot as hell scenes between Ben and Elle!

Peace Love and Happy Reading,

Staircase (1)

Leave a Reply

